“Growing Minds, Kind Hearts, Rooted in Love”

Our Curriculum

Subject Areas – Religious Education Vision

Note: For 2023-24 we are currently on Year A



The curriculum follows the Suffolk agreed syllabus for RE. The agreed syllabus has two main aims. They are that pupils should:

  • Learn about religions and explore human experience.
  • Learn from religion and respond to human experience.

Christianity is taught as the main religion, along with other major world faiths and beliefs. The agreed syllabus divides the curriculum into seven main areas of learning;

Key Stage 1

  • 1. Believing.
  • 2. Belonging.
  • 3. Prayer and Worship.
  • 4. Leaders and Teachers.
  • 5. Stories and Books.
  • 6. Celebrations.
  • 7. Symbols and Artefacts.

Key Stage 2

The agreed syllabus divides the curriculum into nine main areas of learning;

  • 1. Beliefs and Questions.
  • 2. Inspirational people.
  • 3. Teachings and Authority.
  • 4. Religion and the individual.
  • 5. Religion, family and community.
  • 6. Worship, pilgrimage and sacred places.
  • 7. The journey of life and death.
  • 8. Symbols and religious expression.
  • 9. Beliefs in action in the world.

Units of work in RE are linked to topics and RE may be taught as a discrete subject or along with other curriculum areas. Quality first hand experiences are encouraged to enhance teaching and learning in RE, with opportunities to explore religion through visits and visitors.

All children take part in a daily act of collective worship, which is mainly of a broadly Christian character. Parents have the right to withdraw their children from R.E./Worship. This should be done in writing and after talking with the Headteacher. Children withdrawn will be supervised in another area.

There are occasional acts of worship that take place in Church e.g. Harvest, Christmas and Easter, and end of term services.